Irish Film: Ten Years in the Sun to premiere at JDIFF, March 27th

Ten Years in the Sun, an Irish experimental feature film by Rouzbeh Rashidi will premiere at Jameson Dublin International Film Festival, on Friday, March 27th, at 8pm in the Light House Cinema.

Dublin-based experimental filmmaker Rouzbeh Rashidi has become recognized as one of the most radical and uncompromisingly independent talents in contemporary underground cinema. Eschewing traditional narrative, he roots his style in the poetic interaction of sound, image and atmosphere. Visually and sonically hypnotic, his films provide uniquely intense sensorial experiences that question everything you ever took for granted about cinema.

Ten Years in the Sun is Rashidi’s most extreme and ambitious film to date. In it, several bizarre characters are entangled in obscure private obsessions, conspiracies and perversions that flicker on the verge of incoherence against the context of vast cosmic disaster. In an absurdist and fragmented plot, Nicholas Fox (Dean Kavanagh) seeks to make contact with the legendary villains Scorpio (Rashidi himself) and Boris Remy (Maximilian Le Cain) through the intercession of the insane Sergeant-Major Barrett (John Curran), while Herr Käferholz (Jann Clavadetscher) becomes so engrossed in his erotic fixations that he experiences humankind’s most primal state of existence. At the same time, the universe collapses into a random series of incompatible image systems.

Ten Years in the Sun’s bold formalism, grotesque comedy and cosmic sweep are balanced by an acute sense of human vulnerability and a delicate nostalgia rooted in film history. The resulting film is a sensory onslaught that combines a homage to the subversive humour of Luis Buñuel and Joao Cesar Monteiro with the visionary scope of a demented science fiction epic in meltdown.

The film is produced by Experimental Film Society, written, edited, and directed by Rouzbeh Rashidi, with cinematography from Rouzbeh Rashidi and Dean Kavanagh. The film stars Jann Clavadetscher, John Curran, Dean Kavanagh, Maximilian Le Cain, Alice Kavanagh, Jennifer Sharpe, Ora Kolmanovsky, Atoosa Pour Hosseini, Patricia Klich, Farideh Aram, Reza Rashidi, Eadaoin O’Donaghue, Mohsen Pour Hosseini, Ehsan Safarpour, G. Correli. Check out more on the film’s blog.