Bow Street Academy

Screen Ireland & Bow Street Academy Announce Successful Recipients of the new ‘Actor as Creator’ Scheme

Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland and Bow Street Academy, the National Screen Acting School of Ireland have announced the successful recipients of the new ‘Actor as Creator’ scheme. They commented that there was a very strong response to the call for applications and the selection process has been incredibly competitive, with 30 successful recipients announced today. 

‘The Actor as Creator’ is a new initiative aimed specifically at supporting unique creative voices within the Irish screen acting community to create a diverse range of work, introduced during a time when social distancing measures are affecting traditional production activity across film and theatre. The successful recipients were selected by a panel compromising Emmy nominated casting director Louise Kiely, Bow Street Academy, Screen Ireland and Screen Skills Ireland. The final successful recipients represent a diverse range of new and established talent from across Ireland. The scheme has also achieved a 50/50 gender balance across the successful funding recipients.

We are delighted to have introduced this new initiative which directly supports, recognises and invests in actors who wish to create and perform new original screen work. Ireland is renowned for our depth of acting talent and we are looking forward to showcasing the final projects to Irish and international audiences online.

Désirée Finnegan, Chief Executive – Screen Ireland

Bow Street Academy is excited to be part of this unprecedented initiative that recognises actors as original creators. At a time when the world seeks respite through film and television drama, this direct funding is an important first step on the road to providing a platform and opportunity to showcase the depth of great screen acting talent in Ireland.

Shimmy Marcus, Artistic Director – Bow Street Academy

The successful applicants are: 

  • Aaron Monaghan 
  • Ally Ní Chiaráin
  • Andie McCaffrey
  • Anthony Moriarty 
  • Barry O’Connor 
  • Bob Kelly
  • Charleigh Bailey
  • Ciaran Bermingham  
  • Clara Harte
  • Colette Forde
  • Eanna Hardwicke 
  • Ella Connolly
  • Gabriel Adewusi
  • Gemma Kane
  • Jackson Lennon 
  • Jade Jordan 
  • Jimmy Smallhorne
  • Kate Gilmore 
  • Katie McCann 
  • Leah Rossiter 
  • Lesley Conroy
  • Mark Schrier
  • Peter Melrose 
  • Rex Ryan 
  • Rory Fleck Byrne 
  • Rosemary Seymour
  • Ruairí Heading
  • Sarah Kinlen  
  • Tony Doyle 
  • Úna Kavanagh 

This new initiative is also supported by Equity. The successful recipients will originate, perform and produce the short filmic work. The successful pieces will be showcased widely after completion. Additional skills development support will be delivered online for the successful recipients through Screen Skills Ireland, the skills development unit within Screen Ireland

All works created and/or produced by the actor must adhere to all Government guidelines and protocols to ensure compliance with Covid-19 related public health protection measures.