Zebbie 2017

#Awards: Nominations are in for the Writers Guild of Ireland’s 2017 ZeBBie Awards

The Writers Guild of Ireland has announced the nominees for the 2017 ZeBBie Awards. The ZeBBie Awards are annual awards created by the WGI — named in honour of O. Z. Whitehead — to acknowledge the best script(s) written by Irish playwrights and screenwriters during the previous year.

The three biggest Irish films of 2016, Room, The Young Offenders, and A Date for Mad Mary, will all fight it out for the prize of Best Feature Film Script, while Graham Cantwell’s Lily, Emmet Kirwan’s Heartbreak, and Natasha Waugh’s Terminal will compete for the Best Short Film Script honour.

Best Television Script

  • Sharon Horgan for Divorce (Pilot ep.)
  • Graham Linehan & Sharon Horgan for Motherland (Pilot ep.)
  • Stefanie Preissner for Can’t Cope Won’t Cope (Ep. 4)

Best Radio Script

  • Lucy Caldwell for Dear Baby Mine (Ep. 1)
  • Rory Duffy for Paulo in the Underworld
  • Kate Gilmore for The Wickedness of Oz

Best Theatre Script

  • David Ireland for Cyprus Avenue
  • Margaret McAuliffe for The Humours of Bandon
  • Laurence McKeown for Green & Blue

Best Feature Film Script

  • Emma Donoghue for Room
  • Peter Foott for The Young Offenders
  • Darren Thornton & Colin Thornton for A Date for Mad Mary

Best Short Film Script

  • Graham Cantwell for Lily
  • Emmet Kirwan for Heartbreak
  • Natasha Waugh for Terminal

Best Game Script

  • Kevin Beimers for Wailing Heights
  • Christopher Conlan for Little Acre
  • Barry Keating for Steep

The 2017 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony will take place on Wednesday, June 28th in The Sugar Club, 8 Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, and it will be hosted by Senator David Norris.