BAFTA Film Awards

#Awards: Four Irish nominees announced for 70th BAFTA Film Awards

The nominations have been announced for the 70th BAFTA Film Awards. Awards favourite La La Land leads the pack with 11 nominations, but it was a relatively disappointing morning for the Irish. Irish talent picked up 4 nominations, with Consolota Boyle up for Best Costume for her work on Florence Foster Jenkins, Seamus McGarvey up for his cinematography on Nocturnal Animals, and Irish Film Board-backed short The Party up for Best British Short. Limerick native Ruth Negga is also competing for the Rising Star award, whose nominees were announced last week.

Last year Irish nominees picked up 11 nominations, with John Crowley’s Brooklyn receiving six on its way to claiming Best British film. Among those that missed out are period drama Love & Friendship, which looked like a contender for Adapted Screenplay and Costume Design, and Ruth Negga for Best Actress for her role in Loving. Golden Globe winner Isabelle Huppert missed out in the Best Actress category as Elle was ineligible, with British actress Emily Blunt the surprise contender in the category for her role in The Girl on the Train.

In addition to the 11 nominations for La La Land, there were 9 for Denis Villeneuve’s Arrival and Tom Ford’s Nocturnal Animals. Ford’s film missed out on a Best Picture nominations, with the other nominees being Kenneth Lonergan’s Manchester By The Sea, Ken Loach’s Cannes Palme d’Or winner I, Daniel Blake, and Barry Jenkins’ Golden Globe winner Moonlight. Manchester By The Sea picked up six nominations in total, while Moonlight has four. Other mutiple nominees include I, Daniel Blake, Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them; Lion and Hacksaw Ridge, which all received 5 nominations.

The Irish Film Board-backed short film The Party, which was one of their 1916-commerative After ’16 shorts, is primarily a Northern Irish affair set in a Troubles-best Belfast in 1972. The film, which is directed by Andrea Harkin, sees a young man welcome home his cousin and man-on-the-run Mickey to a party of drinking, dancing and young love. By morning, reality catches up with them.

The 70th BAFTA Film Awards will be held on 12 February 2017 at the Royal Albert Hall in London.

Full list of nominees:

Best Film
Arrival – Dan Levine, Shawn Levy, David Linde, Aaron Ryder
I, Daniel Blake – Rebecca O’Brien
La La Land – Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz, Marc Platt
Manchester By The Sea – Lauren Beck, Matt Damon, Chris Moore, Kimberly Steward,
Kevin J. Walsh
Moonlight – Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Adele Romanski
Outstanding British Film
American Honey – Andrea Arnold, Lars Knudsen, Pouya Shahbazian, Jay Van Hoy
Denial – Mick Jackson, Gary Foster, Russ Krasnoff, David Hare
Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them – David Yates, J.K. Rowling, David Heyman, Steve Kloves, Lionel Wigram
I, Daniel Blake – Ken Loach, Rebecca O’Brien, Paul Laverty
Notes On Blindness – Peter Middleton, James Spinney, Mike Brett, Jo-Jo Ellison, Steve Jamison
Under The Shadow – Babak Anvari, Emily Leo, Oliver Roskill, Lucan Toh
Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or Producer 
The Girl With All The Gifts – Mike Carey (Writer), Camille Gatin (Producer)
The Hard Stop – George Amponsah (Writer/Director/Producer), Dionne Walker (Writer/Producer)
Notes On Blindness – Peter Middleton (Writer/Director/Producer), James Spinney (Writer/Director), Jo-Jo Ellison (Producer)
The Pass – John Donnelly (Writer), Ben A. Williams (Director)
Under The Shadow – Babak Anvari (Writer/Director), Emily Leo, Oliver Roskill, Lucan Toh (Producers)
Film Not In The English Language
Dheepan – Jacques Audiard, Pascal Caucheteux
Julieta – Pedro Almodóvar
Mustang – Deniz Gamze Ergüven, Charles Gillibert
Son Of Saul – László Nemes, Gábor Sipos
Toni Erdmann – Maren Ade, Janine Jackowski
13th – Ava Duvernay
The Beatles: Eight Days A Week- The Touring Years – Ron Howard
The Eagle Huntress – Otto Bell, Stacey Reiss
Notes On Blindness – Peter Middleton, James Spinney
Weiner – Josh Kriegman, Elyse Steinberg
Animated Film
Finding Dory – Andrew Stanton
Kubo And The Two Strings – Travis Knight
Moana – Ron Clements, John Musker
Zootropolis – Byron Howard, Rich Moore
Arrival – Denis Villeneuve
I, Daniel Blake – Ken Loach
La La Land – Damien Chazelle
Manchester By The Sea – Kenneth Lonergan
Nocturnal Animals – Tom Ford
Original Screenplay
Hell Or High Water – Taylor Sheridan
I, Daniel Blake – Paul Laverty
La La Land – Damien Chazelle
Manchester By The Sea – Kenneth Lonergan
Moonlight – Barry Jenkins
Adapted Screenplay
Arrival – Eric Heisserer
Hacksaw Ridge – Robert Schenkkan, Andrew Knight
Hidden Figures – Theodore Melfi, Allison Schroeder
Lion – Luke Davies
Nocturnal Animals – Tom Ford
Leading Actor
Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge
Casey Affleck – Manchester By The Sea
Jake Gyllenhaal – Nocturnal Animals
Ryan Gosling – La La Land
Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic
Leading Actress
Amy Adams – Arrival
Emily Blunt – The Girl On The Train
Emma Stone – La La Land
Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins
Natalie Portman – Jackie
Supporting Actor
Aaron Taylor-Johnson – Nocturnal Animals
Dev Patel – Lion
Hugh Grant – Florence Foster Jenkins
Jeff Bridges – Hell Or High Water
Mahershala Ali – Moonlight
Supporting Actress
Hayley Squires – I, Daniel Blake
Michelle Williams – Manchester By The Sea
Naomie Harris – Moonlight
Nicole Kidman – Lion
Viola Davis – Fences
Original Music 
Arrival – Jóhann Jóhannsson
Jackie – Mica Levi
La La Land – Justin Hurwitz
Lion – Dustin O’Halloran, Hauschka
Nocturnal Animals – Abel Korzeniowski
Arrival – Bradford Young
Hell Or High Water – Giles Nuttgens
La La Land – Linus Sandgren
Lion – Greig Fraser
Nocturnal Animals Seamus McGarvey
Arrival – Joe Walker
Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert
La La Land – Tom Cross
Manchester By The Sea – Jennifer Lame
Nocturnal Animals – Joan Sobel
Production Design
Doctor Strange – John Bush, Charles Wood
Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them – Stuart Craig, Anna Pinnock
Hail, Caesar! – Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh
La La Land – Sandy Reynolds-Wasco, David Wasco
Nocturnal Animals – Shane Valentino, Meg Everist
Costume Design
Allied – Joanna Johnston
Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them – Colleen Atwood
Florence Foster JenkinsConsolata Boyle
Jackie – Madeline Fontaine
La La Land – Mary Zophres
Make Up & Hair
Doctor Strange – Jeremy Woodhead
Florence Foster Jenkins – J. Roy Helland, Daniel Phillips
Hacksaw Ridge – Shane Thomas
Nocturnal Animals – Donald Mowat, Yolanda Toussieng
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – Nominees Tbc
Arrival – Claude La Haye, Bernard Gariépy Strobl, Sylvain Bellemare
Deepwater Horizon – Mike Prestwood Smith, Dror Mohar, Wylie Stateman, David Wyman
Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them – Niv Adiri, Glenn Freemantle, Simon Hayes, Andy Nelson, Ian Tapp
Hacksaw Ridge – Peter Grace, Robert Mackenzie, Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright
La La Land – Mildred Iatrou Morgan, Ai-Ling Lee, Steve A. Morrow, Andy Nelson
Special Visual Effects
Arrival – Louis Morin
Doctor Strange – Richard Bluff, Stephane Ceretti, Paul Corbould, Jonathan Fawkner
Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them – Tim Burke, Pablo Grillo, Christian Manz, David Watkins
The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Dan Lemmon, Andrew R. Jones, Adam Valdez
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – Neil Corbould, Hal Hickel, Mohen Leo, John Knoll, Nigel Sumner
British Short Animation 
The Alan Dimension – Jac Clinch, Jonathan Harbottle, Millie Marsh
A Love Story – Khaled Gad, Anushka Kishani Naanayakkara, Elena Ruscombe-King
Tough – Jennifer Zheng
British Short Film 
Consumed – Richard John Seymour
Home – Shpat Deda, Afolabi Kuti, Daniel Mulloy, Scott O’Donnell
Mouth Of Hell – Bart Gavigan, Samir Mehanovic, Ailie Smith, Michael Wilson
The Party – Farah Abushwesha, Emmet Fleming, Andrea Harkin, Conor Macneill
Standby – Charlotte Regan, Jack Hannon
The EE Rising Star Award (Voted For By The Public)
Tom Holland
Ruth Negga
Lucas Hedges
Laia Costa
Anya Taylor-Joy