Irish Abroad: Big wins for Irish films and actors at the 17th BIFAs

It was a big night for Irish film at the 17th annual Moët British Independent Film Awards last night, with Frank, Brendan Gleeson, and Andrew Scott scoring wins.

Gleeson won Best Actor for his powerful performance in John Michael McDonagh’s Calvary, which was filmed in Ireland with backing from the Irish Film Board.

Sherlock star Scott, who will next be seen in the new James Bond film Spectre, picked up Best Supporting Actor for his role in Matthew Warchus’ superb drama Pride. Co-star Imelda Staunton also picked up an award for Best Supprting Actress, with the film winning the overall title for Best British Independent Film.

Lenny Abrahamson’s Frank picked up two of the technical awards, with Jon Ronson and Peter Straughan winning Best Screenplay, and Dublin based composer Stephen Rennicks winning the Best Techniacl Award category for his sublime work with the music in the film.

Elsewhere the Wicklow based, British born, director John Boorman was presented with The Special Jury Prize, commemorating a lifetime of wonderful contributions to filmmaking.

Best International Independent Film went to Richard Linklater’s Boyhood, cementing its position as one of the favourites for Oscar in March.

The Full List of Winners:

Best British Independent Film 

Best Director 
Yann Demange for ’71

The Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director 
Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard for 20,000 Days on Earth

Best Screenplay 
Jon Ronson and Peter Straughan for Frank

Best Actress 
Gugu Mbatha-Raw for Belle

Best Actor 
Brendan Gleeson for Calvary

Best Supporting Actress
Imelda Staunton for Pride

Best Supporting Actor 
Andrew Scott for Pride

Most Promising Newcomer
Sameena Jabeen Ahmed for Catch Me Daddy

Best Achievement in Production
The Goob

Best Technical Achievement
Stephen Rennicks, Music for Frank

Best Documentary
Next Goal Wins

Best British Short
The Karman Line

Best International Independent Film

The Raindance Award

The Richard Harris Award (for outstanding contribution by an actor to British film)
Emma Thompson

The Variety Award
Benedict Cumberbatch

The Special Jury Prize
John Boorman