British Independent Film Awards
BIFA Awards

#IrishAbroad: The Favourite wins record 10 BIFAs, leading a great night for the Irish

The Element Pictures-produced The Favourite won a record ten awards at the British Independent Film Awards (BIFA) in London tonight.

Yorgos Lanthimos’ third collaboration with Element Pictures won Best British Independent Film, Best Director and Best Screenplay. Olivia Colman’s performance as Queen Anne was awarded Best Actress, with co-star Rachel Weisz named Best Supporting Actress.

The film had already won 5 craft awards before tonight’s ceremony: Best Cinematography for Dubliner Robbie Ryan, as well as Best Casting for Dixie Chassay, Best Costume Design for Sandy Powell, Best Make Up and Hair Design for Nadia Stacey, and Best Production Design for Fiona Crombie.

I’m thrilled for all involved in The Favourite, we had a wonderful cast and crew who worked on this film led by visionary director Yorgos Lanthimos and we’re all hugely grateful to BIFA for this massive recognition.
Ed Guiney, Producer -Element Pictures

A great night for Element Pictures saw Sebastian Lelio’s Disobedience, which they produced, pick up a Best Supporting Actor for Alessandro Nivola.

Kerry actress Jessie Buckley was named Most Promising Newcomer for her role in Beast.

Disobedience is out now in Irish cinemas, with The Favourite out January 1st.

This is an extraordinary achievement for Element Pictures and I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate Ed Guiney, Andrew Lowe and all the team at Element. We are proud to have supported Element down through the years on major Irish films such as RoomThe Lobster and The Guard and we are delighted to see an Irish production company considered among the best in the world. We have high hopes for further international recognition for Element Pictures, as awards season progresses. We are also particularly proud of Irish cinematographer Robbie Ryan who has built a very strong slate of work over the last number of years and is very deserving of this honour.
James Hickey, Chief Executive – Screen Ireland

Full list of winners:

The Richard Harris Award for Outstanding Contribution by an Actor to British Film
Judi Dench

The Special Jury Prize
Horace Ové, CBE

Best British Independent Film
The FavouriteYorgos Lanthimos

Best Director 
Yorgos Lanthimos, The Favourite

Best Screenplay
Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara, The Favourite

Best Actress 
Olivia Colman, The Favourite

Best Supporting Actress
Rachel Weisz, The Favourite

Best Actor
Joe Cole, A Prayer Before Dawn

Best Supporting Actor
Alessandro Nivola, Disobedience 

Most Promising Newcomer
Jessie BuckleyBeast 

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)
Richard Billingham, Ray & Liz 

Debut Screenwriter
Bart Layton, American Animals

Breakthrough Producer
Jacqui Davies, Ray & Liz

The Discovery Award
Voyageuse, May Miles Thomas

Best Documentary
Evelyn, Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara

Best British Short Film 
The Big Day, Dawn Shadforth, Kellie Smith and Michelle Stein

Best International Independent Film 
Roma, Alfonso Cuarón, Nicolás Celis and Gabriela Rodriguez

Best Casting 
Dixie Chassay, The Favourite

Best Cinematography 
Robbie RyanThe Favourite

Best Costume Design
Sandy Powell, The Favourite

Best Editing 
Nick Fenton, Julian Hart and Chris Gill, American Animals

Best Effects
Howard Jones, Early Man

Best Make Up & Hair Design
Nadia Stacey, The Favourite

Best Music 
Jonny Greenwood, You Were Never Really Here

Best Production Design
Fiona Crombie, The Favourite

Best Sound
Paul Davies, You Were Never Really Here