Festival: A successful second IndieCork announces winners

After a week of full houses, hundreds of screenings, workshops, discussions, music, food events from local, national and international filmmakers, the second annual IndieCork festival came to a close on Sunday.

The second IndieCork awards went primarily to short film, with the sections, Creative Cork, Irish Shorts and World Shorts, simply geographical designations and not a reflection on the relative qualities of the films in those sections. The Irish section alone featured 50 short films.

Commenting on the selection festival director Mick Hannigan said “We were deeply impressed by the Irish shorts in the programme and have no doubt but that we will be hearing a great deal more from the directors, producers, casts and crews responsible for these films. We congratulate them and thank them most sincerely for the privilege of screening their work”.

The Awards went to:

Creative Cork Award: All Mortal Flesh by John Corcoran

In this technically accomplished short, the director shows how by melding the suburban family life of the protagonist with his sometime profession as a hitman, new cinematic life can be breathed into a well-established genre.

Best Irish Short Film: Skunky Dog by James Fitzgerald

Small-town lrish life can crush fragile spirits, while others, through strength of character, can refuse to be bowed. This film deftly depicts such characters who, in their different ways, touch us deeply. Superbly shot, directed, written and acted, the film creates art out of the familiar.

Special Mentions: In this Place by Alec Moore and The Abandoning by Vanessa Gildea

The Ronan Phelan Script Award: John Corcoran, for his script Pearl

Best International Short Film: A Million Miles Away by Jennifer Reeder (USA)

It is not only youth who require guidance. Sometimes adults rely on the wisdom of teenagers. The filmmaker through her use of the signs and expressions of popular culture, creates a timeless yearning space yet one rooted in contemporary imagination.

Special Mention: Our Curse by Tomasz Sliwinski (Poland)

IndieCork Award for Best Indie Feature: Se-Si-O Pol by Henrik Peschel (Germany)

Cinema can serve as a bridge between cultures and the filmmaker through his characters’ dilemmas shows how the cruel realities of contemporary life can be ameliorated through the kindness of human exchange. The film reminds us that despite everything there is hope.

Spirit Of IndieCork Award: Kevin Liddy for The Suffering Kind

As great admirers of Kevin Liddy’s short films Horse and A Soldier’s Song and of his feature film Country, we celebrate his return to filmmaking with The Suffering Kind, a deeply impressive depiction of noble lives touched by suffering. Recognising an independent spirit, it’s fitting that we present Kevin with this year’s Spirit Of The Festival Award for his short film The Suffering Kind.

Ó Bhéal Award for Best Poetry Film: Wadland by Marleen van der Werf (The Netherlands)

Festival organiser Úna Feely concluded that she was very satisfied with the outcome of the second edition of IndieCork. “Great audiences came out every night for indie films and at the weekend we had so many Irish filmmakers travelling to Cork, introducing their films and taking part in workshops. We’re thrilled that IndieCork is truly on the map.”