To The Moon
To The Moon

Tadhg O’Sullivan’s To The Moon selected for prestigious Telluride Film Festival

Carlow filmmaker Tadhg O’Sullivan’s latest documentary To The Moon has been selected for the prestigious Telluride Film Festival, one of North America’s most respected film festivals. Unfortunately, owing to the ongoing Covid-19 situation, the festival will not go ahead in Colorado this year.

Woven from archival sources and original cinematography from around the world, combined with literary fragments and bound together by a wondrous score, To the Moon steps lightly over the landscape of our moonlit imagination. Structured around a lunar cycle, the film moves through tales of love, myths of madness, songs of longing and loss, dreams of innocence and the nightmare of colonialism. A constantly surprising night-walk, the film builds to a timely and poignant reminder of the fleeting fragility of our existence beneath the moon’s mysterious eye. 

The film is produced by Clare Stronge for Inland Films and supported by Screen Ireland, the Arts Council of Ireland, and Arte – La Lucarne. It features music from Linda Buckley, Amanda Feery, Peter Broderick, and Department of Forever.

To The Moon will have its World Premiere at Venice Days (Giornate Degli Autori), the independent Venice Film Festival sidebar. The 16th edition of Venice Days will run concurrently with the Venice Film Festival from September 2nd to 12th.

The Telluride 2020 Lineup

  • “After Love” (Aleem Khan, U.K.)
  • “All In: The Fight for Democracy” (Liz Garbus, Lisa Cortés, U.S.)
  • “The Alpinist” (Peter Mortimer, Nick Rosen, U.S.)
  • “Ammonite” (Francis Lee, U.K.)
  • “Andrey Tarkovsky. A Cinema Prayer” (Andrey A. Tarkovsky, Italy-Russian Federation-Sweden)
  • “Apples” (Christos Nikou, Greece-Poland-Slovenia)
  • “The Automat” (Lisa Hurwitz, U.S.)
  • “The Bee Gees: How Can You Mend a Broken Heart” (Frank Marshall, U.S.)
  • “Charlatan” (Agnieszka Holland, Czech Republic-Ireland-Poland-Slovakia)
  • “Concrete Cowboy” (Ricky Staub, U.S.)
  • “Dear Mr. Brody” (Keith Maitland, U.S.)
  • “The Duke” (Roger Michell, U.K.)
  • “The Father” (Florian Zeller, U.K.-France)
  • “Fireball: Visitors From Darker Worlds” (Werner Herzog, Clive Oppenheimer, U.K.-U.S.)
  • “Ibrahim” (Samir Guesmi, France)
  • “Mainstream” (Gia Coppola, U.S.)
  • “Mandibules” (Quentin Dupieux, France)
  • “MLK/FBI” (Sam Pollard, U.S.)
  • “The Most Beautiful Boy in the World” (Kristina Lindström, Kristian Petri, Sweden)
  • “Never Gonna Snow Again” (Małgorzata Szumowska, co-dir. Michał Englert, Poland-Germany)
  • “Nomadland” (Chloé Zhao, U.S.)
  • “Notturno” (Gianfranco Rosi, Italy-France-Germany)
  • “Pray Away” (Kristine Stolakis, U.S.)
  • “There Is No Evil” (Mohammad Rasoulof, Germany-Iran)
  • To the Moon” (Tadhg O’Sullivan, Ireland)
  • ”Torn” (Max Lowe, U.S.)
  • “The Truffle Hunters” (Michael Dweck, Gregory Kershaw, Italy-U.S.-Greece)
  • “Truman & Tennessee: An Intimate Conversation” (Lisa Immordino Vreeland, U.S.)
  • “The Way I See It” (Dawn Porter, U.S.)