#ADIFF16: Winners announced for Audience, Short Film, and Discovery Awards

Celebrating the films that captured people’s hearts, and following on from the DFCC jury awards, the Audi Dublin International Film Festival has announced the winners of the AUDI-ence Award, ADIFF Discovery, Volta Awards and Shorts competition.

Irish feature Viva by Paddy Breathnach has scooped the coveted AUDI-ence Award, fighting off close competition from fellow Irish titles My Name is Emily and Sing Street as well as Zootropolis, part of the inaugural Fantastic Flicks season. The Audience prize for Shorts went to Ger Duffy and Daire Glynn’s Little Bear. This year the Festival is delighted to announce a collaboration with Title Sponsor Audi, offering the winner of the Feature AUDI-ence Award an exclusive networking trip to the Berlinale in 2017.

[quote title=”Paddy Breathnach – Viva, Director”]I’m thrilled with this news. Dublin is a great audience festival so getting this award means so much to us all. Viva has been a wonderful adventure and this helps keep the adventure going to help bring it to a wider audience.[/quote]

The ADIFF Discovery Award aims to identify and champion emerging talent from both in front of, and behind the camera. Judged by a panel of industry experts comprising Casting Director Margery Simkin, Head of Distribution at Element Films Audrey Shiels, Director and Manager of Teach Solais Jason Foran and Director Ken Wardrop, the winners were announced as actor Barry Keoghan (Mammal, Traders, The Break), director/animator Jack O’Shea (A Coat Made Dark, Eat the Danger) and producer Kathryn Kennedy (My Name is Emily, It’s Not Yet Dark, After).

[quote title=”Margery Simkin – ADIFF Discovery Award Panelist”]At such an exciting time internationally for Irish film we were honored to be a part of the Festival’s effort to celebrate emerging Irish talent and in turn help that talent get recognition both here and abroad. As a jury we were delighted to have viewed so many projects that show there is no shortage of upcoming talent here.[/quote]

The judging panel for the Short Film Award was this year made up of actor Killian Scott, TileStyle and Chair of Business to Arts Ger McNaughton and Screen International critic Fionnuala Halligan, who named Geist as Best Irish Short and The Bathtub as Best International short.

[quote title=”Killian Scott – ADIFF Short Award Panelist”]There is no question that the overall quality of the shorts this year was extremely high. The international category brought us deeply moving and also hilarious tales from around the world. The winner here is a unique story that combines both qualities and reminds us of the power of simplicity in execution. On the Irish side of things, it is only right that our industry is currently looking towards Oscar glory tonight, however if the short films under review this year are anything to go by, there will be plenty more of that to come. The winner here is simply stunning. Congratulations to all.[/quote]

Honoring career achievement, the Volta award was this year given to two screen legends, Angela Lansbury and Claudia Cardinale, who both participated in public interviews and mentoring sessions with emerging actors.

[quote title=”Richard Molloy – Head of Marketing at Audi Ireland”]We have been very happy with the success of this year’s festival. Screening the national premiere of Irish film Viva is a perfect way to close this year’s Audi Dublin International Film Festival. With appearances from screen icon Angela Lansbury, a programme of some of the best new films from Irish and international directors, and recognition for leading talent in Irish film, ADIFF 2016 has been a resounding success.We look forward to supporting the Dublin International Film Festival over the next two years, bringing what is now an established international cultural event, and the Audi brand, to an even greater audience.[/quote]

Audi Dublin International Film Festival welcomed an array of films and guests to Dublin cinemas over the 11 days, including Richard Gere, Angela Lansbury, Claudia Cardinale, Brendan Gleeson, Rebecca Miller, Aidan Quinn, Neil Jordan, Evanna Lynch, and Jack Reynor.