Event: First ever Irish Animation Awards to hit Dingle on March 13th

The first ever Irish Animation Awards will take place on Friday 13th March at the Dingle Skelligs Hotel in Dingle. This is Animation Irelands’ inaugural awards ceremony to acknowledge and celebrate the outstanding creative talent we have within the Irish Animation, VFX and gaming industries. The event also recognises and supports animation students, with a designated Best Student Film category.

Dingle has been home to the Dingle Film Festival and specifically Animation Dingle for the last 3 years and provides the perfect backdrop for the first Irish Animation Awards.

Each of the 12 categories have been appointed two judges that worked together to agree the shortlist and will choose the final winner. The event’s esteemed Chairs and Judges include Jackie Edwards – Executive Producer of Cbeebies Animation, Tim Patterson – VP, Director of Programming at Nickelodeon UK, Sarah Muller Head of Acquisitions at CBBC, Helen McAleer – Chief Global Development Officer for the Walker Group and a host of big names from the world of animation and children’s Television.

Organisers look forward to welcoming attendees to Dingle in 2015 for what promises to be a wonderful evening full of great Irish talent. This is the first year, which is sure to be a much-anticipated event in the Irish Animation, VFX and Gaming Industries. Winners of each category will receive a statuette designed by animator, film maker and teacher Eimhin McNamara. The statuette resembles a Phenakistoscope which was an early animation device used to create an illusion of motion.


The Irish Film Board/Bord Scannan na hEireann is chief sponsor of both Animation Ireland and the Irish Animation Awards. Visit the Irish Animation Awards website, Facebook, or Twitter for further information about the awards, judges and shortlists.

The Nominees are:

TV Section

Best Animated Preschool Series (up to 6 years)

Bing (Brown Bag Films/ Acamar Films)
Nominees:Production Team

Henry Hugglemonster (Brown Bag Films)
Nominees: Production Team
Colm Tyrrell (Producer)
Norton Virgien (Supervising Director)

Lily’s Driftwood Bay (Sixteen South)
Nominees: Production Team


Kids Choice Award for Best Animated Series

Brain Freeze (Kite Entertainment)
Nominees:Colm Tobin (Prodcuer)
Ian Benjamin Kenny (Director)

I’m a Creepy Crawly (Monster Entertainment)
Nominees: Deirdre Barry (Producer)
Andrew Fitzpatrick (Executive Producer)
Andrew Crotty ( Director/ Designer)

Planet Cosmo (Geronimo Productions)
Nominees: Production Team

Punky (Geronimo Productions)
Nominees: Gerard O’Rourke (Producer)

Randy Cunnighman: 9th Grade Ninja (Boulder Media)
Nominees: Gillian Comerford (Animation Director)
Paul O’Flanagan (Animation Director)
Stephen McGann (Animation Director)


Short Film

Best Animated Short Film

Deadly (Kavaleer)
Nominees: Aidan McAteer (Director)
Shannon George (Producer)

Fresh Cut Grass (Boulder Media)
Nominees: Robert Cullen (Director/Writer)

MACROPOLIS (Flickerpix)
Nominees: Production Team
Joel Simon (Director)
David Cummings (Producer)


Best Animated International Short Film

Bait (Dane Winn)
Nominees: Dave Winn (Director)
Matthew Footit

Chasing Sunlight (Alexandria Kwan)
Nominees:Alexandria Kwan (Director)

Outlines (Daisy Gould)
Nominees: Daisy Gould (Director)


Craft Section

Best Writer for Preschool Animation (up to 6 years)

Lily’s Driftwood Bay (Sixteen South)
Nominees: Writing Team

Planet Cosmo (Geronimo Productions)
Nominees: Jason Tammemagi

Punky (Geronimo Productions)
Nominees: Andrew Brenner


Best Writer for an Animated Series

Brain Freeze (Kite Entertainment)
Nominees: Colm Tobin
Aidan O’Donovan

Roy (Jam Media)
Episode: Snookered
Nominee: Trevor J. Colgan

Roy (Jam Media)
Episode: Roy on Film
Nominee: Mark Hodkinson


Best Animation for Apps and Gaming

Dino Dog – A Digging Adventure with Dinosaurs! (Storytoys)
Nominees: Jason Tammemagi
Ciara Moore
Emmet O’Neill
Dan Spencer

Five Fables (Flickerpix)
Nominees: Dean Burke (Animation Director)
Joel Simon (Supervising Director)
Tim Bryans (Producer)
David Cumming (Executive Producer)

ShipAntics: The Legend of The Kikibeast (Studio PowWow)
Nominees: Production Team


Best Design/Art Direction

Bing (Brown Bag Films & Acamar Films)
Nominees: Stephen O’Connor (Art Director)
Stephen Robinson (Art Director)

Doc McStuffins (Brown Bag Films)
Nominees: Derek Horan (2d Designer)
Bronagh O’Hanlon (Art Director)

Henry Hugglemonster (Brown Bag Films)
Nominees: Bronagh O’Hanlon(Art Director)

Best Director of an Animated TV Series

Bing (Brown Bag Films)
Nominees: Nicky Phelan (Director)
Jeroen Jaspaert (Series Story Director)

Brain Freeze (Kite Entertainment)
Nominee: Ian Benjamin Kenny (Director)

Peter Rabbit (Brown Bag Films)
Nominee: David McCamley (Director)


Best Animation

Bord Gais Networks ‘Tommy McAnairney’ (Piranha Bar)
Nominees: Gavin Kelly ( Director)
Simon Burke (Lead 3D/Character Design/ Lighting)
Sam Boyd (Rigging/ Lead Animator)

Last Hijack (Piranha Bar)
Nominees: Piranha Bar Team

Lily’s Driftwood Bay (Sixteen South)
Nominees: Animation Team


Best Music/Sound Design

Lily’s Driftwood Bay (Sixteen South)
Nominees: Music and Sound Design TeamThe Travels of a Young Marco Polo (Magpie 6 Media/ Monster Entertainment)
Nominees: Production Team

Nominees: Darren Hendley


Best Student Film

Daisy Chain (IADT)

Nominees: Thomas Young(Writer/ Director/ Animation)
Produced by IADT

Vertical Horizons (IADT)

Nominees: Anita Gaughan (Director/ Animator)
Produced by IADT

Wounded (BCFE)

Nominees: Julie Rush (Director)
Produced by BCFE