Ruth Treacy

Ruth Treacy selected as Ireland’s Producer on the Move 2021

Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland has congratulated Irish producer Ruth Treacy, who has been selected by European Film Promotion (EFP) as Ireland’s Producer on the Move for 2021.

EFP’s long-standing programme to promote promising producers and foster international co-productions will be held online again from 17 – 21 May.

20 selected European producers, including those producing this year’s Silver Bear and Oscar-winning films Natural Light and Another Round, will be presenting their current projects in speed meetings and during roundtable sessions. More than half of this year’s selection are women.

I’m really excited to have been chosen as the Irish representative for Producer on the Move this year – the initiative is hugely respected, so it’s a real honour to be invited to participate. I’m looking forward to forging new creative connections with producers from all over Europe.

Ruth Treacy

Ruth is a Co-Founder and Managing Director of Tailored. As well as fulfilling the role of Head of Development at Tailored, Ruth also works as both a producer and director. To date, she has been lead producer on The Lodgers and the co-productions The Winter Lake and Stitches, as well as eight TV drama series. Ruth’s upcoming productions include a youth TV drama series and the feature film debut of Chris Andrews.

The five-day programme aims at connecting enterprising producers with potential co-production partners and strengthening their international industry networks. The programme is underpinned by a promotion and press campaign, creating international visibility and opportunities for the producers.

Previous Irish Producers on the Move include John Wallace (Rialto), Cormac Fox (Animals), Alan Maher (Song of Granite), Katie Holly (Vita & Virginia), John Keville and Conor Barry (The Hole in the Ground), Juliette Bonass (A Date for Mad Mary), Rebecca O’Flanagan (Papi Chulo) and Macdara Kelleher (Black ’47).

The full list of 20 producers from 20 countries who were selected for the programme are: Annabella Nezri (Belgium), Nikolay Mutafchiev (Bulgaria), Bojan Kanjera (Croatia), Marek Novák (Czech Republic), Kasper Dissing (Denmark), Jean-Christophe Reymond (France), Maite Woköck (Germany), Sára László (Hungary), Ruth Treacy (Ireland), Marica Stocchi (Italy), Iris Otten (The Netherlands), Gary Cranner (Norway), Beata Rzezniczek (Poland),Tathiani Sacilotto (Portugal), Bianca Oana (Romania), Katarína Tomková (Slovak Republic), Andraž Jerič (Slovenia), Clara Nieto (Spain), Nima Yousefi (Sweden), and Sarah Born (Switzerland).

EFP (European Film Promotion) started the programme 22 years ago – more than 420 producers have participated since then. Many of them went on to become internationally respected industry players whose works are screened at A-festivals around the world, winning Academy Awards and garnering critical acclaim. Producers on the Move is financially backed by the Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the European Union and the participating national film institutes, EFP’s member organisations.

Interviews with this year’s PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE will be published on the website of the programme’s other media partner: