Fingal Film Festival announces awards contenders, Sep 26-28

The 2014 Fingal Film Festival will take place in Movies@Sword, Pavilions Centre, Swords from 26th – 28th September., with eight awards for the best in new Irish and International films up for grabs.

The festival programme features feature films, documentaries, shorts animation by emerging and established Irish and international filmmakers.  All are in the running for the prestigious awards announced on the closing night of the Festival at the four star Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin airport. A fabulous awards night is planned with Al Porter, one of Ireland’s most promising comedians, and Featuring X, an all-girl indie-rock quintet.

[quote]We have eight awards up for grabs this year, which will be presented on September 28th[/quote], says Festival Director Liz Kenny.[quote] The prizes range from cash to film equipment to broadcasting of films. And this year the introduction of our Irish language section has seen us inundated with Irish language films.[/quote]

The films will be judged be a panel comprising of: Mícheál Ó Meallaigh – Director of Commissioning TG4, Ciaran Tanham ( ISC ) Director of Photography  and Boulder Media Creative Director Rob Cullen.

Here are the shortlisted films which will feature in the festival programme:

Best Feature Film
Calloused Hands – Director: Jesse Quinones, UK/USA
Blitzfood – Director: Sheridan James Lunt, UK/FFW
Jardin De Amapolas – Director: Juan Carlos Melo Guevara, Colômbia

Best Documentary Feature
Dah Zivota – Director: Snjezana Brezno, Bosnia
Not Anymore – Director: Matthew Van Dyke, USA/Sierra
One Ocean: No Limits – Director: Sarah McCann, Ireland

Best International Film
Lifever – Director: Ted Hardy-Carnac, France
Os Meninos Do Rio – Director: Javier Macipe, Portugal
Electric Índigo – Director: Jean-Julien Collette, Belgium
A Piece Of The Bottom – Director: Floyd Russ, USA

Best Irish Language film
Dorchadas – Director: Noel A Malone, Ireland
Taimse im Chodladh – Director: Denis Buckley, Ireland
Barróg Béir – Directors: Gavin FitzGerald, Sibéal Eléna Davitt, Ireland

Best Student Film
I’ve Been A Sweeper – Director: Ciarán Dooley, DIT/FN
Bollocks  – Director: Steven Larkin, DKIT
• The Last Gift  – Director: Carl O’Donovan, ITB
Model Life – Director: Tom Reynolds, BCFE

Best Animation Film
Shoot – Director: Rory Conway, BCFE
A Boy Named Hashtag – Director: Clark Wickstone, FN/ITB
Tears – Director: Yahya Ghobadi, Iran
The Bloggs  – Director: Mick Rochford, Ireland

Best Short Film
Skunky Dog – Director: James Fitzgerald, IADT/Ire
Lines In The Sand – Director: Michael Gilroy, UK
I’ll Be Home Soon – Director: James Everett, Ireland
The Note – Director: Ciaran Creagh, Ireland
Toy Soldiers – Director: Mike Hayes, FN/Ire
In This Place – Director: Alec Moore, Ireland

Best Fingal Newcomer Media Award
Volkswagen Joe – Director: Brian Deane, Ireland/FN
A Boy Named Hashtag – Director: Clark Wickstone

Tickets can be purchased for all of the films and shorts online now. Tickets for the Awards Night cost 20 euro and can be purchased here.

Fingal Film Festival was established in 2012 to provide a platform for local, national and international emerging filmmakers, offering encouragement and promotion for new work in a quality cinema environment.

For more information hit up the festival’s Website, Facebook, or Twitter.