Irish Abroad: 11 Minutes and Being AP added to Toronto line-up

The Toronto International Film Festival has announced a number of new titles that will play at Noth America’s biggest film festival this September. Among the new additions is Jerzy Skolimowski’s Polish/Irish co-production 11 Minutes, and Anthony Wonke’s British/Irish horse-racing documentary Being AP.

11 Minutes will have its North American premiere in the Masters of Cinema section, with Being AP featured in TIFF Docs. The two join the previously announced Canadian premieres of Lenny Abrahamson’s Room and John Crowley’s Brooklyn, as well as the North American premiere of Yorgos Lanthimos’s critically acclaimed Irish co-production The Lobster.

Being AP is based on the life of champion jump jockey AP McCoy, and was filmed at race-courses and locations in both Ireland and the UK earlier this year, featuring exclusive footage of the jockey, trainers and family from the 2014-15 season. The Moneyglass, County Antrim born McCoy is one of Ireland’s most successful professional sportspersons with more than 4,300 wins. Being AP is directed by Anthony Wonke, and produced by Moneyglass Films, in partnership with Partizan Films and Roads Entertainment, and in association with BBC Films with support from The Irish Film Board, Northern Ireland Screen and the British Horse Racing Authority/Great British Racing.

Venice bound 11 Minutes is backed by the Irish Film Board and Element Pictures, and stars Richard Dormer (Good Vibrations, ’71, Game of Thrones) in the lead role of a film director. It follows the same 11 minutes in the lives of several different characters; young and old, prosperous and destitute. 11 Minutes stars an ensemble of other Polish actors including Agata Buzek, Beata Tyszkiewicz and Mateusz Ko?ciukiewicz. It is produced by Ewa Piaskowska of Skopia Film and co-produced by Andrew Lowe and Ed Guiney of Element Pictures.

[Quote title=”Ed Guiney – Element Pictures, Producer “]We’re delighted to have 3 films in Toronto. It’s a brilliant platform for the very best of world cinema and we are delighted and honoured that these films have been selected. As ever it’s a testament to the amazing film makers we are lucky enough to be working with.[/quote]

The 40th annual Toronto International Film Festival runs September 10th to 20th. The new additions to the line-up are below.

TIFF Cinematheque

Adieu Philippine – Jacques Rozier, France/Italy

Harlan County, USA – Barbara Kopple, USA

The Mask (Eyes of Hell) – Julian Roffman, Canada

The Memory of Justice – Marcel Ophüls, United Kingdom/USA/Germany

River of Grass – Kelly Reichardt, USA

Rocco and His Brothers (Rocco e i Suoi Fratelli) – Luchino Visconti, Italy

The Round-Up (Szegénylegények) – Miklós Jancsó, Hungary

Titicut Follies – Frederick Wiseman, USA

Masters of Cinema

11 Minutes (11 Minut) – Jerzy Skolimowski, Poland/Ireland, North American Premiere

The Assassin (Nie Yinniang) – Hou Hsiao-hsien, Taiwan, North American Premiere

Bleak Street (La calle de la amargura) – Arturo Ripstein, Mexico/Spain, North American Premiere

Blood Of My Blood (Sangue Del Mil Sangue) – Marco Bellocchio, Italy, International Premiere

Cemetery of Splendour (Rak Ti Khon Kaen) – Apichatpong Weerasethakul, North American Premiere, Thailand/United Kingdom/France/Germany/Malaysia

Every Thing Will Be Fine – Wim Wenders, Germany/Canada/France/Sweden/Norway, North American Premiere

Francofonia – Alexander Sokurov, Germany/France/Netherlands, North American Premiere

In the Shadow of Women – Philippe Garrel, France, North American Premiere

Jafar Panahi’s Taxi – Jafar Panahi, Iran, Canadian Premiere

Our Little Sister (Umimachi Diary) – Hirokazu Kore-eda, Japan, North American Premiere

The Pearl Button (El Botón de Nácar) – Patricio Guzmán, Chile/France/Spain, North American Premiere

Rabin, The Last Day – Amos Gitaï, Israel/France, North American Premiere

Right Now, Wrong Then – Hong Sang-soo, South Korea, North American Premiere

Midnight Madness

Baskin – Can Evrenol, Turkey, World Premiere

The Devil’s Candy – Sean Byrne, USA, World Premiere

The Girl in the Photographs – Nick Simon, USA, World Premiere

Green Room – Jeremy Saulnier, USA, North American Premiere

Hardcore – Ilya Naishuller, Russia/USA, World Premiere

The Mind’s Eye – Joe Begos, USA, World Premiere

Southbound – Roxanne Benjamin, David Bruckner, Patrick Horvath and Radio Silence, USA, World Premiere

SPL 2 – A Time For Consequences – Soi Cheang, Hong Kong, International Premiere

Yakuza Apocalypse (Gokudo Daisenso) – Takashi Miike, Japan, North American


Collective Invention (Dolyeon Byeoni) – Kwon Oh-kwang, South Korea, World Premiere

Demon – Marcin Wrona, Poland/Israel, World Premiere

Der Nachtmahr – AKIZ, Germany, North American Premiere

Evolution – Lucile Hadžihalilovi?, France, World Premiere

February – Osgood Perkins, USA/Canada, World Premiere

Lace Crater – Harrison Atkins, USA, World Premiere

Love – Gaspar Noé, France, North American Premiere

Men & Chicken (Mænd go Høns) – Anders Thomas Jensen, Denmark. North American Premiere

My Big Night (Mi Gran Noche) – Álex de la Iglesia, Spain. World Premiere

The Missing Girl – A.D. Calvo, USA, World Premiere

Veteran – Ryoo Seung-wan, South Korea, North American Premiere


Amazing Grace – Sydney Pollack, USA, International Premiere

A Flickering Truth – Pietra Brettkelly, New Zealand/Afghanistan, North American Premiere

A Journey of a Thousand Miles: Peacekeepers – Geeta Gandbhir and Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy, USA/Pakistan, World Premiere

A Young Patriot (Shao Nian * Xiao Zhao) – Du Haibin, China/USA/France, Canadian Premiere

Being AP – Anthony Wonke, United Kingdom/Ireland, World Premiere

Bolshoi Babylon – Nick Read, United Kingdom, World Premiere

Dark Horse – Louise Osmond, United Kingdom, Canadian Premiere

He Named Me Malala – Davis Guggenheim, USA, International Premiere

Heart of a Dog – Laurie Anderson, USA, Canadian Premiere

Hitchcock/Truffaut – Kent Jones, USA/France, Canadian Premiere

Horizon Bergur Bernburg and Fridrik – Thor Fridriksson, Iceland/Denmark, World Premiere

In Jackson Heights – Frederick Wiseman, USA, North American Premiere

It All Started At The End (Todo comenzó por el fin) – Luis Ospina, Colombia, World Premiere

Janis: Little Girl Blue – Amy Berg, USA, North American Premiere

Je Suis Charlie – Emmanuel Leconte and Daniel Leconte, France. World Premiere

Miss Sharon Jones! – Barbara Kopple, USA, World Premiere

The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble – Morgan Neville, USA, World Premiere

Nasser – Jihan El-Tahri, France/South Africa, International Premiere

Our Last Tango (Un tango más) – German Kral, Germany/Argentina, World Premiere

P.S. Jerusalem – Danae Elon, Canada/Israel, World Premiere

The Reflektor Tapes – Kahlil Joseph, United Kingdom, World Premiere

Return of the Atom (Atomin paluu) – Mika Taanila and Jussi Eerola, Finland/Germany, World Premiere

Sherpa – Jennifer Peedom, Australia/United Kingdom, Canadian Premiere

Thru You Princess – Ido Haar, Israel, International Premiere

Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight For Freedom – Evgeny Afineevsky, Ukraine/USA/United Kingdom, Canadian Premiere

Women He’s Undressed – Gillian Armstrong, Australia, International Premiere