Awards Season – WGA Shortlist Unveiled

The Writers Guild of America today unveiled their shortlist for the much coveted 2010 Writers Guild Awards.

The all-conquering Avatar picks up a nomination for writer/director James Cameron with awards darling The Hurt Locker also in contention for the Best Original Screenplay. In the Adapted category the big guns are Precious: Based on the novel Push by Sapphire and the critical darling Up in the Air.

The awards will be announced on Saturday, February 20th 2010, at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York.

The full list is as follows:

Original Screenplay
(500) Days of Summer – Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber
Avatar – James Cameron
The Hangover – Jon Lucas & Scott Moore
The Hurt Locker – Mark Boal
A Serious Man – Joel Coen & Ethan Coen

Adapted Screenplay
Crazy Heart – Scott Cooper – Based on the novel by Thomas Cobb
Julie & Julia – Nora Ephron – Based on the books Julie & Julia by Julie Powell and My Life in France by Julia Child with Alex Prud’homme
Precious: Based on the novel Push by Sapphire – Geoffrey Fletcher – Based on the novel Push by Sapphire
Star Trek – Roberto Orci & Alex Kurtzman – Based upon Star Trek created by Gene Roddenberry
Up in the Air – Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner – Based upon the novel by Walter Kirn

Documentary Screenplay
Against the Tide – Richard Trank
Capitalism: A Love Story – Michael Moore
The Cove – Mark Monroe
Earth Days – Robert Stone
Good Hair – Chris Rock & Jeff Stilson and Lance Crouther and Chuck Sklar
Soundtrack for a Revolution – Bill Guttentag & Dan Sturman